ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Simple swap of layer

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Emeric ThoaSimple swap of layer
by on Sep 29, 2010 at 12:11:11 am

Hi guys,
I need help. Deeply. I'm new to AE, and I was ready to love it, but after a full day not being able to a do simple "blinking" animation on a cartoon character, I might as well go back to Flash.

So please help me. Here is what I want to do:
- I have a .png character on one layer.
- This character is kinda "floating" (imagine a little ghost)
- I want the character's eyes to "blink" randomly over time. For this I have another layer with the blinking character.

What I tried so far:
- I do a wiggle on the main .png layer
- I set the opacity of the "blink" layer to 0
- I set the parent of the "blink" layer to the main layer

so far, works great, my character is floating eyes open. If I change manually the opacity the blink layer appears at the same random position as the main layer.

I have hard time to make it randomly blink over time though.
I have tried this expression:
r = random (1,60);
if (r>3) opacity = 0;
else opacity = 100;

Works nice, but the "blink" effect only stays for a frame, and I would like to delay it for about a second.

So if you have any idea ? Another BIG question is : how to do a basic swap of layers? Is the opacity the only way (set layer 1 to 0, layer to 100 and then invert?). I would soooo need some better way to do this, and I have been reading thousand of pages on the web without finding a good solution.

Thanks a lot.

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Simple swap of layer
by on Sep 29, 2010 at 1:27:03 pm

Flash is often preferred for character animation, but I think I can help you out.
Check out this tutorial. It should get you what you need.