ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects Sequences Assembled in FCP-Specs?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jesse Harris
After Effects Sequences Assembled in FCP-Specs?
on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:45:01 pm

Hi,

I have a number of time lapse sequences, (shot in raw) I intend to edit together in some semblance of a story about a building in NYC. I will edit those sequences together with 5DMKII 29.97 video footage of the building in Final Cut Pro v7. I realize this post may cross a few threads and for that I apologize in advance.

I use a Mac Pro 2009 2.66 8-core with 16 gigs of ram - OSX 10.6.4. FCP Studio3 v7, AE CS5

- I have been compiling the raw sequences in AE at 24df, 23.976. I started shooting the architectural MKII footage at 30df to preserve sharpness and avoid panning artifacts I might've incurred with 24p. I am wondering if I can convert the 29.97 video to 24 in FCP and have it look good. Obviously I am inexperienced in the video world and am extremely grateful for some advice and opinions.

- Is there any advantage to working 16 bit in AE with my time lapse sequences? And if so, when would I down-convert to 8 bit - if at all?

- I'm fairly sure there is no relation between Photoshop/still photography color space, (ie: Color Match, Adobe RGB, sRGB etc) and video - but is there a reason to work in a particular color space in AE? Or none at all - and color-correct final output in FCP?

- In addition I've been reading the preferred codec for rendering, (non-Alpha channel), out of AE for FCP is now Pro Res 422, where some years ago it was Animation. Opinions?

Thanks very much for any ideas you can give me.

Jesse

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: After Effects Sequences Assembled in FCP-Specs?
on Sep 25, 2010 at 10:26:02 pm