ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE and H.264?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rich Camp
AE and H.264?
on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:13:50 am

Hello, I am rather new to AE and have what may be a simple question.
I created an AE project by importing an XML file from FCP using the popcorn script.
Thing is the original FCP files are H.264, now I know it is a very hard to work with codec and AE has been going very slowly and I just realized that maybe the H.264 could be the problem.
First question, would a different format be better to work with?

Since I am bringing it back into FCP which works greatly with ProRes, would that be a suitable format to use?

Last part, if H.264 could be causing problems, is there an easy way to make AE change the codec of all the video used? Or would I have to batch convert the files then reconnect?

I greatly appreciate your help! I apologize if I am not using the correct AE lingo, as I said I am new to it, but if I'm not feel free to correct me so I know in the future! Thanks!

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Re: AE and H.264?
on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:40:45 pm

What AE version are you using?
As a rule, it is best to bring in AE uncompressed footage.
ProRes would be better than H264.
For details search for Dave's Stock Answer #1- Dave LaRonde explains in detail issues related to compression.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior Compositor/VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:15:19 pm

I agree with Ted on ProRes.

There are a important notes about using ProRes with After Effects, depending on which version of AE you are running. Check out Todd Kopriva's blog entries:

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index