ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

HD authoring in after effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tamal SenHD authoring in after effects
by on Sep 20, 2010 at 8:09:17 pm

Hi, I am a film student in India, and I have made a 25 minute diploma film, shot on 35mm. I recently finished doing the post production and managed to get a dpx 1920x1080 output of the film( i.e. in *.dpx still images at 24 frames per second). Now for reasons entirely due to budgetary constraints we converted those images to targa(*.tga) file and then imported it into after effects timeline to color correct it. My question is this- the dpx scan has a lot of black area in it(the masks at the top and bottom)- since I have never done a dpx scan before, is that how the scanning is normally done? I was under the impression that only the picture and not the mask would be scanned. Now the following photos will show you what the footage looks like in original scan, then with a 134% zoom, and finally with another mask applied to cut out the rounded edges. This is where we are stuck- what should we output it as? Because uncompressed, the output video would form almost 2.7 terabytes. What compression should we use so that it wouldn’t tax hard disk space but allow for a good Hdcam tape transfer? Finally should we not zoom in at all? I ask this because the dvd mastering that we did wasn’t zoomed in and when it was played back on tv, it autostretched to fit the screen at the sides, but when it was played back on a computer the autostretching never happened, unless you chose such options on powerdvd. I guess we are not clear on the HD mastering area. Please help.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: HD authoring in after effects
by on Sep 20, 2010 at 9:02:49 pm