ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Best Settings / Hardware Setup Config for my Workstations? (Plus Nucleo Pro 3)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Eric RichnerBest Settings / Hardware Setup Config for my Workstations? (Plus Nucleo Pro 3)
by on Sep 1, 2010 at 5:52:22 pm

I'm new to After Effects (and Premiere) and have been scouring the internet on how to optimize my workflow from the beginning. I have also looked into adding Nucleo Pro 3 to my After Effects workflow as it seems to be very useful in reducing rendering times.

My main Workstation/Media Center (PC #1):

CPU: Quad-core Intel i7 920 2.6ghz overclocked to 3.8ghz with HyperThreading
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600
GFX: Nvidia GTX 460 1GB (Gigabyte)
DRIVES:
OS Drive - 1TB 7200rpm 32MB Cache SATA 3GB/S (Western Digital Caviar Black)
Scratch Disk - 160GB 7200rpm 8MB Cache (Western Digital AV)
Backup - 8TB RAID5 (Hardware) USB3/ESATA 4-Bay External Enclosure on another WIN7x64 PC connected directly via Gigabit Ethernet
MONITORS: All Calibrated w/ X-rite i1 Display
2 x 21.5in 1920x1080 LCD (Compaq)

My second Workstation (PC #2):

CPU: Six-core AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz
RAM: 8GB DDR2 1333
DRIVES:
OS - 300GB 10000rpm 16MB Cache SATA 3gb/s (Western Digital Velociraptor)
Scratch Disk - 120GB 10000rpm SATA 1.5gb/s (Western Digital Raptor, 5yrs old)
Backup - 8TB USB3.0 RAID5 (Hardware) 4-Bay External Enclosure
MONITORS: All Calibrated w/ X-rite i1 Display
1 x 23in 1080p IPS LCD (NEC)
2 x 21.5in 1920x1080 LCD (Compaq)

Note:
I do plan on upgrading the OS Drives on both PC's to 160GB or 256GB SATA III 6gb/s SSD drives within the next two months (and will get duplicate drives to put in a RAID a few months after that). I also will be bumping up the RAM on PC #2 to 16GB DDR 1600 and adding a Nvidia GTX 460 1GB graphics card.