ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Advice for WIP

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nick Lyons
Advice for WIP
on Aug 21, 2010 at 8:50:27 pm

Hey AE Forum,

I'm new to graphic design so my knowledge isn't as deep as I'd like it to be. I seem to come across a problem after creating in Cinema 4D of which effects to use in AE to give my video the spice it needs. Below is a video I made for a contest, and while I do like it, it is missing something(s). Is there a website that teaches commonly used effects used in AE to spice up precreated footage? I added some VC effects to the video. Let me know what you think and where I can improve.

Thank you!

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: Advice for WIP
on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:23:21 pm

[Nick Lyons] "I seem to come across a problem after creating in Cinema 4D of which effects to use in AE to give my video the spice it needs."

I don't think that the video needs spice. Technically, what you have is pretty good, although I think the text is a little hard to read.

What this needs is meat. It needs to communicate something about the brand or the identity of "The Game Station." It needs creative -- a concept, a story that tells us a little bit about "The Game Station," keeps us interested in watching the clip, and builds a relationship between the viewer and "The Game Station."

To continue the food metaphor, when you have the meat, selecting the spices becomes a lot easier. You will choose spices that reinforce, enhance, and complement the flavor of your dish. To come back to motion design: time, space, shape, motion, color, and light -- they are all elements which are critical to the integrity of the piece, and not just razzle-dazzle dropped on top to mask the hole where something is missing.