ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

3D scene in AE

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Grant McGibbon3D scene in AE
by on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:26:24 pm

Hi All,

I am really new to After Effects and am busy doing a self-study course so please excuse me. I have done some playing around with green screen removal and was thinking about doing a music video (obviously a simple one) for some friends of mine. Is there any way to create a 3D scene in something like 3D Studio Max or Maya or something then import it into either After Effects CS5 or Premiere CS5 and then be able to put my object that I used in the green screen into the scene? If I was filming my object on the green screen and moving around the object I would obviously like the 3D scene that I load up to look like its in sync. Is this possible? Many thanks in advance and apologies if I should not have posted something in this forum like this. I only signed up 5 minutes ago so not sure.

Grant

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: 3D scene in AE
by on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:38:34 pm

If you want to get specific answers, ask specific questions.
In your case, what are you thinking of shooting on a green screen- an object, a person, a group of people... How are you going to shoot them- camera on a tripod, dolly or crane, computer assisted movement... What is the type of 3D scene that you're thinking of introducing the chroma footage in ( a stage, a room, a whole landscape...).
There are various ways of doing what you are trying to do, from really complicated and time consuming to pretty simple and straightforward stuff (if well thought in pre-production). So be specific and you will get help catered to your need.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior Compositor/VFX Artist
Bucharest, Romania

Return to posts index

Grant McGibbonRe: 3D scene in AE
by on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:52:29 pm

Hi Ted,