ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Fish and Particle Playground

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
sam baumFish and Particle Playground
by on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:58:57 am

Hi All

Is there a way of controlling particle playground so that it starts with a set number of particles and doesn't emit any more? I'm trying to make a school of fish and so don't really want more to be produced by the effect.

Or, is there a better way of making a school of fish, baring in mind I'm a novice to all this!
Thanks

Sam

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Fish and Particle Playground
by on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:55:28 pm

[sam baum] "Is there a way of controlling particle playground so that it starts with a set number of particles and doesn't emit any more? I'm trying to make a school of fish and so don't really want more to be produced by the effect."

Most particle systems use emitters that allow you to specify particles per second. If you want to emit only a fixed number of particles, you have to keyframe the emitter and do a little math.

If you want to emit 100 particles, and your frame rate is 30 frames per second, you can keyframe the emitter to 3,000 (100 * 30) particles on the first frame, then 0 on the second.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Karl-Jason MawdsleyRe: Fish and Particle Playground
by on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:15:35 pm

[Walter Soyka] Most particle systems use emitters that allow you to specify particles per second. If you want to emit only a fixed number of particles, you have to keyframe the emitter and do a little math.