ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Rendered output is shorter than the original ??

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stephen MannRendered output is shorter than the original ??
by on Aug 8, 2010 at 2:46:21 pm

I have a project due tomorrow that simply drops a video segment that I shot and edited in Vegas into an AE template that the client provided. This is my first time using AE - I postponed the painful outlay of money until I had a client that required the use of AE - Now I have one. (yay?)

Here's the problem. (One of two). My video was shot in HDV and rendered from Vegas as DV-NTSC Widescreen (.avi) and is 3:17;00 in length No matter what I do in the AE render settings, the rendered output of AE is always 2:38;00. It looks good in preview, and the audio syncs (apparently a rarity in AE*) and in the preview, is 3:17;00 long.

The second of two problems: I've learned from researching this on the forums that AE apparently sucks when previewing or rendering audio, and if you get audio to sync in preview, then you are just lucky. I am lucky, then, because the composition looks and sounds great in RAM preview. However, in my rendered output the audio is WAY out of sync by a few seconds. I can't tell if it's drifting over time because it starts from the beginning out of sync. Assuming that the audio render was part of my problems, I thought, no problem, I'll just render the video then match up the audio back in Vegas. I mute the audio and the rendered output is *still* 2:38;00.

I've tried Settings: 'Best Settings' and 'DV Settings', Output module: 'Uncompressed AVI' and 'AVI DV NTSC 48Khz'. Always the same result, 2:38;00

It appears that the whole composition has shrunk by 39-seconds. The start is OK and the fade-out at the end is OK, but if AE is going to shrink my render by :39 (any shrinkage would be a problem) I can't re-sync the audio back in Vegas.