ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Multiple Laser Beams

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gill VaneMultiple Laser Beams
by on Jul 6, 2010 at 3:10:02 pm

I just need a little bit of help adding multiple laser beams in After Effects, CS4.

There is a stock "beam" effect that comes with after effects, and I'm using that.

I can ad key frames, and move the laser beam around. Kind of tricky to set the beginning and end points so the beam moves correctly, but I'm getting the hang of it.

However, I'm having trouble adding more than one beam (doing a simple laser gun effect, shooting multiple beams).

When I hit "beam" again, I do get beam 2, but the screen just goes white, and I can't maneuver it on my footage like the first beam.

Any suggestions or tips would be helpful. Yes, I'm an AE newb, but you have to start somewhere.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Multiple Laser Beams
by on Jul 6, 2010 at 3:41:51 pm

[Gill Vane] "Yes, I'm an AE newb, but you have to start somewhere."

If you're trying to use AE intuitively, that's a bad place to start: it's not very intuitive. I'd go here:
http://blogs.adobe.com/toddkopriva/2010/01/getting-started-with-after-eff.h...

Read EVERYTHING. Check out all the links. There is good stuff aplenty.

But to answer your immediate question, I'd play around with the "paint on original" and "paint on transparent" settings in the various instances of the effects. I'm not at My AE machine, so I may have the lingo wrong... but you'll find it.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Multiple Laser Beams
by on Jul 6, 2010 at 4:12:42 pm

If you're going to use the Beam effect for this, you will want a separate layer for each beam. See if this tutorial helps you.