ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Green Screening... need advice!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul LevinGreen Screening... need advice!
by on Jun 16, 2010 at 10:30:15 pm

Hey all,

I'm editing a project where most the shots are done against a green screen. Being related to the martial arts, many of the shots have fast movements. As a result, I'm getting alot of webbed fingers, and hands/feet getting cut off on quick movements.

I have very little experience with green screens,and the little I've done was just talking heads. Now we're looking to shoot part 2, and I'm looking for suggestions on how I can eliminate this preferably in the shoot, otherwise in post. Would it help to shoot high speed?

We shot in DVCppro HD 720, but are open to other formats if it would help.
For post, I'm doing my keying in AE using keylight.

Return to posts index

Kevin ReinerRe: Green Screening... need advice!
by on Jun 16, 2010 at 11:26:26 pm

Every greenscreen key is a little different, so there is no one answer, but I'll throw a couple tips your way.

1. sometimes adding a "levels" effect prior to keylight helps. You'll have to play with it and even go into the separate RGB channels and adjust. You're trying to even out the green and make it true green, use the info tab to monitor.

2. When you choose the screen color you want to key out, place the eyedropper in a green area nearest the area you are having difficulty with. So if a hand is getting cut off, try selecting the green that is near that hand.