ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Frame Rate and File format to render to

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chad KetteringFrame Rate and File format to render to
by on Jun 8, 2010 at 1:25:00 pm

Hello,

I am new to After Effects and had some questions about frame rate and rendering file types.

I am currently creating some sequences using still photography images. I plan to render these effected sequences out and import them into Adobe Premiere for final edit and export.

I would like the final project to be 1920x1080 24P for a BluRay disc release.

Should I setup AE for true 24fps or 23.976fps?

I have been rendering the sequences out to Quicktime Movie format to later be imported into Premiere for final editing. Is this a good format to preserve the best quality?

One last question - 8-bit or 16-bit color?

Thanks for your help!!

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Frame Rate and File format to render to
by on Jun 8, 2010 at 4:48:54 pm

[Chad Kettering] "I would like the final project to be 1920x1080 24P for a BluRay disc release. Should I setup AE for true 24fps or 23.976fps?"

Either. Blu-Ray technically supports both 23.976 and 24 fps. Personally, I'd choose 23.976 fps unless I had a very good reason not to.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Frame Rate and File format to render to
by on Jun 8, 2010 at 4:56:12 pm

[Chad Kettering] "I plan to render these effected sequences out and import them into Adobe Premiere for final edit and export.... I have been rendering the sequences out to Quicktime Movie format to later be imported into Premiere for final editing. Is this a good format to preserve the best quality?"