Sounds like your preferences were trashed and replaced with the defaults. If you have a backup of your prefs file you can replace it. Otherwise I believe you'll have to recreate the workspaces and render presets.
The animation presets shouldn't be affected though, they're usually stored in the presets folder as individual files.
I do remember a window popping up mentioning something about settings and changing the name to old but I was in a hurry and didn't read the full message. Because I'm an idiot. Is it possible that this might have something to do with my preferences? Where are my preferences saved?