ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Exported video from AE - black color looks bad.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mckelvie WilderExported video from AE - black color looks bad.
by on Apr 26, 2010 at 3:01:21 am

First time poster here, so if I do this wrong sorry. I am a newer user to AE. I've keyed some DV footage. The key looks as good as I think I can get it. The problem is when I export the video as a Quicktime video all looks fine. When I use compressor to convert to mpeg file for DVD burn, the solid black color looks horrible. In the clothing of the people especially. It looks as if the key was trying to take out this color, but didn't. I have reworked the key a hundred times, it changes nothing. Any clue what would be affecting this black color level? I am not a video expert, so keep that in mind when responding. Thanks for any help.

ps .. is there a way to get compressor to export an mpeg dvd file WITH audio imbedded?

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: Exported video from AE - black color looks bad.
by on Apr 26, 2010 at 7:22:09 am

Render your original footage to an uncompressed format. Then pull the key.
Here's a great tip from Dave LaRonde:
"Dave's Stock Answer #1:

If the footage you imported into AE is any kind of the following -- footage in an HDV acquisition codec, MPEG1, MPEG2, AVCHD, mp4, mts, m2t, H.261 or H.264 -- you need to convert it to a different codec.

These kinds of footage use temporal, or interframe compression. They have keyframes at regular intervals, containing complete frame information. However, the frames in between do NOT have complete information. Interframe codecs toss out duplicated information.