ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Motion Tracking/Stabilisation of Aerial Footage

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Adi KerrMotion Tracking/Stabilisation of Aerial Footage
by on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:37:10 pm

Hello all,

I've had a look around this forum and a few others, tried some of the tips and tricks and I'm still having trouble, which may be because I'm not very good with After Effects, or because I'm attempting the impossible or a combination of the two.

This morning I went up in a Microlight for half an hour in an attempt to get some test shots, and I've got them back to the edit and obviously found a degree of camera shake to them which I'd like to eliminate.

What is the best way to do this? I've tried Stabilisation, but it just keeps the tracked point in the same spot. The footage itself is moving over a golf course, so eventually any points will passs through the shot, moving both x and y axis.

I think what I'm asking is;

"Is there any way of selecting a portion of the footage, and making that point follow a Motion Path?"

I'm not sure how clear I've made myself, but if anyone can decipher my ramblings and offer a bit of help that would be great. Thanks all.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Motion Tracking/Stabilisation of Aerial Footage
by on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:54:24 pm

[Adi Kerr] "What is the best way to do this?"

I'm glad to hear that you're running tests. You've now learned the value of a camera stabilization system, and the reason why such systems are used in aerial motion photography.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Motion Tracking/Stabilisation of Aerial Footage
by on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:48:39 pm