ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Where should my AE application reside?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David DiNennaWhere should my AE application reside?
by on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:13:36 pm

I'm a newbie, so excuse me if this question is a bit basic...

Is it best to run my AE and Premiere applications on my external drive (Fusion 400G drive) or off my C:Drive? I'm just curious if these applications can even run off a external drive, and if so, would they work/render quicker versus the C:Drive.

Thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Where should my AE application reside?
by on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:16:59 pm

Specify your C drive when installing. The installer should default to putting the apps in C:/Program Files.

External drives are great for media. Your C drive is a very bad place for media.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

David DiNennaRe: Where should my AE application reside?
by on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:22:16 pm

Thanks Dave. So installing and running from my C:Drive (program files) is the correct way to set this up?

This is the way i have it now. My files are located on the external drive, and I edit/render them on the drive as well. I just thought that perhaps running these applications off the external drive would be better because the drive isn't running anything else. You're saying this is not the case - right?

thanks again.

Return to posts index

by on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:33:52 pm

[David DiNenna] "You're saying this is not the case - right? "

That's correct. An external drive is a bad place for your applications.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer

Return to posts index

David DiNennaRe: Where should my AE application reside?
by on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:38:37 pm