ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Motion Tracking Issues

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Damian LiveseyMotion Tracking Issues
by on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:04:49 pm

Hi I’m a university student working on a short film for a compositing module.

In the final shot of the movie there is a man throwing his head into a fish tank. The character needs two simple Fish Gills attached to each side of the neck, however this is my problem >-||

For previous shots we used corner pin track points which worked great but for this final shot we forgot to reapply them. Now due to the low light and underwater environment, I’m finding it extremely difficult to make a good track. I’ve experimented for days, used a number of different software’s, tried pre colouring the footage, even manually tracking but it’s just not working and I’m desperately running out of time.

I've posted the shot on a private Vimeo page the password is ‘gills’ and the link is below.

http://vimeo.com/11079146

If someone knows any techniques that might help or maybe a way of disguising the area around his neck so I can remove the gills altogether then please let me know.

Many Thanks
Damian.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Motion Tracking Issues
by on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:43:03 pm

I know you don't want to hear this, but it's your best bet: re-shoot the aquarium shot. Apply gills to the talent via makeup.

You will drive yourself nuts trying to replicate this effect in AE, and getting to the point of being driven nuts will take precious time you don't have.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Viktor NuevoRe: Motion Tracking Issues
by on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:14:15 pm