ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Best Rendering for my situation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mark GusmannBest Rendering for my situation
by on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:38:57 pm

I'm pretty new to After Effects and I want to know the best way to handle rendering for this situation.

I'm working on a series of about 20 short animations that need to eventually be combined a put on DVDs to be played on a Samsung model LE32B530, 32" LCD, Format 16:9, 1920X1080 screen.

I'm not sure how to go about rendering the animations, combining them, and transferring them onto a DVD while keeping the best resolution possible. I'm also worried about the animations skipping around during the exhibition because when I export 10 sec of lossless I get a 1 GB+ file that doesn't play well on my computer (skips frames/ seconds of video). The animations that are doing this are ones where I am moving photos around.

I have set my file up at the 1920X1080 size and a 29.97 frame rate.

I know this is a doosie and any information will help. I just don't want to get too far down the road with this project and having to back track and redo the animations.

Return to posts index

Steve RobertsRe: Best Rendering for my situation
by on Apr 18, 2010 at 3:05:20 pm

In order to play a high-quality video at a high-data-rate codec (such as Animation) smoothly without skipping, you probably need to have a RAID array hooked up to your computer. This is because each frame of the file is just too big for the computer to read at your desired frame rate. This is expected behaviour by the pros, because nobody expects to play back high-data rate-files without a RAID. Those files are supposed to be high-quality renders used for further processing by another app -- compressing by that other app into a form that can be played back: lower-quality, lower data rate.