ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Help with Advanced masks in adobe after effects!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Troy GordonHelp with Advanced masks in adobe after effects!
by on Apr 11, 2010 at 4:34:53 am

Hey everyone I'm having some trouble with an animation that involves alot of masks heres what I've created so far:

So I drew an elliptical mask around each bubble and animated them "Popping" by cranking the mask expansion to a low negative value then animating it to 0 . I applied this to each bubble... (there is probably some expression or easier way of doing this but I'm not a pro with after effects juuust yet)

I Think this animation looks great but my client wants each bubble to slide in quickly instead of pop.
So the centre bubble is like a magnet attracting the rest of them in. Which means I need to be able to move each bubble around independently instead of revealing them with a mask.

So i was wondering is there way to take all those masks (all 203) and convert them into layers so that i can use them to move each bubble on its own. OR is there an even simpler method.

ALSO! I have a PSD file where i created an elliptical mask around each bubble and created a new layer BUT when I import it into After effects its WAYYYY to slow to work with. Anyway I could speed that up

Any help would be VERY VERY Appreciated

Thanks guys

Troy Gordon

Return to posts index

Steve RobertsRe: Help with Advanced masks in adobe after effects!
by on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:16:28 pm

Sounds like a job for Shatter. Make a movie (or precomp) of the dots exploding away, then reverse it. The caveat is: you don't have total control over the movement of the dots. If your client wants that, he/she will have to spring for you to place every dot on a layer.

In addition to the original graphic, you'll need: