ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Window reflection distort

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
frank nadalWindow reflection distort
by on Apr 7, 2010 at 10:32:56 pm

I'm a beginner in After Effects so please bear with me.

I'd like to create a distorted reflection, kind of like when you look at a reflection from a window.

For example. I have a picture of a building with mirrored windows exterior. In front of the building, I have a spaceship ascending into the air. I'd like for the building to reflect a slightly distorted image of the ship upon ascention, without distorting the windows on the building.

I tried an Alpha Track Matte, with a solid and adjustment layer (distorting the adjustment layer). It's pretty close to what I want but it distorts the building. If I place a warp or ripple affect on the spaceship, it doesn't have the proper reflection effect when the ship ascends.

Any ideas? Many thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

Erik WaluskaRe: Window reflection distort
by on Apr 8, 2010 at 12:14:37 am

Could you post some images of your scene and timeline?

Return to posts index

frank nadalRe: Window reflection distort
by on Apr 8, 2010 at 12:49:36 am

Kind of like this affect. See, the building is clear but the reflected image is distorted. So if a car moved in front of the building, the reflection would be distorted while it moved by the building.

Return to posts index

Tudor JelescuRe: Window reflection distort
by on Apr 8, 2010 at 7:34:58 am

Create a matte for the windows only.
Comp the building on top of itself, using this matte.