ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Trying to import layered .PSD file with vector masks to AE (CS4)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David CrassTrying to import layered .PSD file with vector masks to AE (CS4)
by on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:31:29 pm

I'm pretty new to the world of motion graphics and Adobe products, so this may be an easy one. (Using CS4)

I'm trying to import a .PSD file, that includes several layers, into AE. Essentially, the main image is a map of the US with several layers colored at 50% transparency to highlight individual states that I've set as vector masks. I want to be able to animate the layers individually within AE but when I import the .PSD file into AE, instead of showing up as the colored shapes I created in PS, the layers show up as solid colors that are the size of my composition...and without the transparency I set in PS.

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong so any advice would be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Todd KoprivaRe: Trying to import layered .PSD file with vector masks to AE (CS4)
by on Mar 20, 2010 at 11:52:28 pm

If you want to use your layers at their original, individual sizes, then import the PSD file as a composition using the Composition - Cropped Layers option, as described on this page.

There's more information about preparing and import PSD file from Photoshop into After Effects on this page.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
putting the 'T' back in 'RTFM' : After Effects Help on the Web
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share---or if there is something that you'd like to see added or improved---please leave a comment.