ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

new project help

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dima Ivannew project help
by on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:39:32 am

Hi, I recently saw a commercial that I really liked, and I want to create the same effect in After Effects for my new intro.
Here's a video:

and from 0:45 till 0:55 is the part that I want to create. I have little experience in AE, but this one seems to be pretty hard, I don't even know where to start. I would replace the can with text.
Notice the optical flares, 3D space, flying particles.

Return to posts index

Tidjani FaradjRe: new project help
by on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:04:14 am

I think this part has been made with the Optical Flare plug-in by Andrew Kramer (Video Copilot) .. I recognized that part from the preview video of the plug-in (

- TidjRock -

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: new project help
by on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:14:33 am

The flares look 3D-ish.

YOu can head on to Dan Ebberts' site - and look at his lens flare tutorial. Essentially, it allows you to link AE's 2D len flare to a 3D null.

For 3rd part solutions, and have their respective plugins.

Sell your AEPs with broadcastGEMs' DVD series of templates. Click here for more

Return to posts index

adam taylorRe: new project help
by on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:16:54 am

Instead of asking "how do i do this?" you'll learn a whole lot more if you work it out yourself. Watch it over and over. Don't watch the overall effect, watch the individual elements

You have already mentioned a lot of the things you need to think about ie. 3d space, flares, particles etc. now you need to break it down even further, and start to build your effect based upon your observations.