ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Ram Issues with Affter Effects CS4

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brandon MooreRam Issues with Affter Effects CS4
by on Mar 5, 2010 at 5:39:32 pm

Hi there..I just got After Effects CS4 and I am editing my first video. I am using Windows XP Pro Service Pack 3 with an Athlon64 Dual Core 4000 processor and 2 gigs of ram. Also a brand new hard drive. I am a Spanish guitarist so I am also bringing in an audio track. I first bring in the footage (SDHC) HDV into Premire Pro CS4 to render as an uncompressed AVI or Quicktime and was going to bump it down to the H.264 codec (for the web) on the final AF output. Well.. when I bring the footage into After Effects and try to use keylight and a few effects + audio. I keep getting these warnings popping up.. keylight is out of ram.. or not enough memory.. or set memory cash to another file on your computer which I have done. I basically am at a stand still as I can't work. I also try and keep the quality at half just to try and work. I'm thinking my problem could be my low ram and video card. You may laugh as the video card is an older ati x1600xt 256mb which was more of a gaming card. And it was fine for creating my flash website and such but this is another beast. Due to funds I need to find a solution at a low cost. I was going to pick up the ATI FireGL V3600 256 mb. The same memory as the card I have now although I'm hoping this card is more optimized for what I am trying to achieve. And I am getting 2 more gigs of ram.(4 gigs total).I was also going to go into diagnostic mode and disable all the garbage running in the background. Is there anything else I can do so that I can atleast get my video done? Should I render the video and bump it down to H.264 in Premier first? Or do my Keylight and effects for the video only.. and then bring it over to Premier Pro and ad the audio track there for final