ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Render Stalls at Around 300 Frames

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Corbin GrossRender Stalls at Around 300 Frames
by on Mar 1, 2010 at 5:06:02 pm

So I'm trying to rendere some keyed footage. It's just some folks dancing around on a green screen keyed out with Keylight. It's 1080i footage. Everything else in the project is working great. It's just the render that's giving me problems.

I've got about 15 clips. When I tried to render them out all in a row the first clip stalled out at around 250 frames in (approx 1/3 the total length). Later I tried just doing one clip at a time and it worked for two clips and then it stalled out again on the third clip. I've restarted several times (the only tech tip that I know). It's keeps staling.

I've got CS4 Production Suite on a MacPro...

I'm not very good at this so please let me know what other information would be pertinent.

Thanks

Corbin Gross
Creative Services
Marketing
SanMar Corp.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Render Stalls at Around 300 Frames
by on Mar 1, 2010 at 5:41:51 pm

[Corbin Gross] "...keyed out with Keylight. It's 1080i footage.... It's just the render that's giving me problems. "

I STRONGLY recommend looking up the topic of codecs in AE's Online Help. You need to know about codecs when working in AE, and it's not anything that can be taught in a post. Look it up.

Then look at the codecs of the footage in your project -- highlight them in the project window to see info on the footage -- and read this:

Dave's Stock Answer #1:

If the footage you imported into AE is any kind of the following -- footage in an HDV acquisition codec, MPEG1, MPEG2, AVCHD, mp4, m2t, H.261 or H.264 -- you need to convert it to a different codec.