ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Brightness/Color shift

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
craig whitBrightness/Color shift
by on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:24:02 am

I have a piece of 1080 footage that has the following codec "Uncompressed Component Y'CbCr 10-bit 4:22" This is the first time I've worked with footage this heavy so I made a 264 version to work with in my comp. When I view both clips in QT, they look very similar. When I go to replace the hi-res version in my comp with the newer, low res clip, there is a drastic brightness/color shift. The 264 clip is much darker as you can see. As I said, I'm new to this quality/codec so any help is greatly appreciated. The deliverables are due on Friday and I'm feeling the pinch. Thanks everyone.

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Brightness/Color shift
by on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:34:16 am

Here's an Adobe document on gamma shifts; it may give you some useful information.

That aside, I'd recommend against using h264 footage in After Effects. I hope Dave LaRonde doesn't mind if I parrot his stock answer on the topic:

Dave's Stock Answer #1:
If the footage you imported into AE is any kind of the following -- footage in an HDV acquisition codec, MPEG1, MPEG2, mp4, m2t, H.261 or H.264 -- you need to convert it to a different codec.

These kinds of footage use temporal, or interframe compression. They have keyframes at regular intervals, containing complete frame information. However, the frames in between do NOT have complete information. Interframe codecs toss out duplicated information.

In order to maintain peak rendering efficiency, AE needs complete information for each and every frame. But because these kinds of footage contain only partial information, AE freaks out, resulting in a wide variety of problems.

You'd be better off using a codec like DVCPRO HD or ProRes.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live