ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Freezing up on file import

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mark RamseyFreezing up on file import
by on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:16:12 pm

Help! I've been using After Effects 7 for a couple of years now...never had any problems until recently...every time I try to import a video clip, it freezes up instantly, and I have to close it out. There's nothing wrong with my computer, as I've been using the program several times even recently. I even reformatted my hard-drive a couple of weeks ago, just in case it would help. I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling the program a couple of times, too. I have no idea what to do about it, nothing I try seems to be working...and obviously the program is useless if I can't even import a clip.
Until I get this figured out, I've been using a trial version of Sony Vegas, which has been working perfectly. So I'm wondering if there isn't something in particular about After Effects that needs fixing. Anyone had any ideas or suggestions? I'm getting a bit desperate here!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Freezing up on file import
by on Feb 18, 2010 at 3:45:16 pm

[Mark Ramsey] "never had any problems until recently..."

Did you start getting footage shot on a different CAMERA recently? Here's why I ask:

Dave's Stock Answer #1:

If the footage you imported into AE is any kind of the following -- footage in an HDV acquisition codec, MPEG1, MPEG2, AVCHD, mp4, m2t, H.261 or H.264 -- you need to convert it to a different codec.

These kinds of footage use temporal, or interframe compression. They have keyframes at regular intervals, containing complete frame information. However, the frames in between do NOT have complete information. Interframe codecs toss out duplicated information.