ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

importing Premier Pro files to After Effects best practice

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
alexis apfelbaum
importing Premier Pro files to After Effects best practice
on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:32:56 am

Hi Im a beginner...
Im chopping up a video in Premier Pro and dragging to seqencesin the PPro timeline. When select and copy and paste these into Af timeline it also brings with it the same entire source video every time I paste a clip into AF.As a result I have the same source video multiple times in the project folder Im worried about the space/memory issue and if I should instead be exporting each little clip as a movie instead and bringing this into AF. And if I did this is the quality then affected. I have a lot of clips to bring in and the memory/space may be an issue if I continue with sequences but exporting as movie may bring down quality...what's the usual practice? if you have any suggestions that'd be great.

all the best,

alexis

Return to posts index

Chris Buttacoli
Re: importing Premier Pro files to After Effects best practice
on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:12:48 pm

The way I like to work is to edit the sequence in PPro first, and then export only the exact portions that need work/fx done in AE. When using DV footage, I export using the MicrosoftDV codec from both apps, and there is no noticeable loss of quality.

Return to posts index

alexis apfelbaum
on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:50:07 am

Hi Chris and thanks,