ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Beginner: Do I need to know Photoshop to learn AE?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris DavisBeginner: Do I need to know Photoshop to learn AE?
by on Feb 6, 2010 at 9:10:04 pm

Hello,

I realize most AE users are also graphics pros, and probably already know Photoshop well but...

I'm a hobbyist wondering if I can learn AE without first learning Photoshop well.

I keep meaning to watch the 50 hours of "One on One" tutorials on Photoshop in Lynda.com by Deke McClelland, but I just can't seem to get interested in heavy manipulation of the still image (beyond basic exposure techniques available in Camera RAW and a few other basic tricks). Video's my thing.

Would it be easier to learn AE if I knew Photoshop first?

Many Thanks,
Chris

Return to posts index

Daniel Coutinho FerreiraRe: Beginner: Do I need to know Photoshop to learn AE?
by on Feb 6, 2010 at 10:30:48 pm

In my opinion it would surely be easier to learn AE if you knew PS first.
There are some concepts like Layers, Masks, Alpha Channel, Adjustment Layers, and so on that are very similar between the two Programs.
You don't have to be an expert in "heavy image manipulation", but you'll notice that AE walks a lot together with PS (even the communication between both is very good, and sometimes doing something in PS and exporting to AE is much easier than trying to do inside AE), and it's better to know them both, if even if you're just into video stuff.

Have fun!

http://cargocollective.com/danielcoutinho

Return to posts index

David JohnsonRe: Beginner: Do I need to know Photoshop to learn AE?
by on Feb 6, 2010 at 10:47:30 pm