ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

'Boiling' in retouched clip using clone tool

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt Fawkes'Boiling' in retouched clip using clone tool
by on Feb 3, 2010 at 9:59:52 am

Hi there,

I'm creating an effect for a clip in a broadcast TV documentary using the clone tool but the results so far aren't satisfactory. I have some footage of an astronaut floating towards camera holding a piece of card with some text on it, I need to replace this with some other text. I'm fairly new to AE so not sure if my method is correct but it seems the only way to go about it is by manually erasing the text from each frame before rotoscoping on the new message - though its proving very difficult to avoid the flicker from inconsistent retouching, or'boiling', i think I've seen it called. To fix this it looks as though bluring and reintroducing grain is not a bad solution, or is there a better technique altogether? Any advice on retouching in this way would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt Fawkes

Return to posts index

Todd KoprivaRe: 'Boiling' in retouched clip using clone tool
by on Feb 3, 2010 at 1:05:28 pm

Rather than doing frame-by-frame retouching on the card, you can make a still frame of the new card and then composite it in over the old one.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
putting the 'T' back in 'RTFM' : After Effects Help on the Web
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share---or if there is something that you'd like to see added or improved---please leave a comment.

Return to posts index

Matt FawkesRe: 'Boiling' in retouched clip using clone tool