ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Weird problem with the star tool.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gabe ClayWeird problem with the star tool.
by on Feb 3, 2010 at 8:04:20 am

Hey everyone, I'm new to creative cow forums but I'm not new to After Effects and I have a very strange problem. I was trying to use the star tool to make a mask but when I started drawing the mask I noticed it didn't look anything like a normal star. Instead it looked like a star with about 25 rounded points. I've been using after effects for a long time now and I have never had this problem before. I've tried for hours to fix it with no luck. Hopefully one of you guys out there can help me.

Return to posts index

Todd KoprivaRe: Weird problem with the star tool.
by on Feb 3, 2010 at 1:00:33 pm

from "Create a shape or mask by dragging with shape tools":

"Each shape tool retains the settings of the most recent drawing operation with that tool. For example, if you draw a star and modify the number of points to be 10, then the next star that you draw will also have 10 points. To reset settings for a tool and create a shape with the default settings, double-click the tool in the Tools panel."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
putting the 'T' back in 'RTFM' : After Effects Help on the Web
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share---or if there is something that you'd like to see added or improved---please leave a comment.

Return to posts index

Gabe ClayRe: Weird problem with the star tool.
by on Feb 3, 2010 at 6:34:00 pm