ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After effects for 50 inch TV

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason Kinouchi
After effects for 50 inch TV
on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:04:58 pm

Hi everyone!

I'm quite new to this and I've spent half the day trying to find the answer to with no luck so I'm hoping someone can help me.

I've been asked to do a motion graphic sequence for a client who wants to play the clip on a 50inch TV screen from a laptop. I've practiced rendering some test compositions on After Effects but obviously the footage is always stretched on the screen.

I've tried playing around with all the setting including the pixel aspect ratio, but when I hook my laptop up to the TV monitor, it always looks stretched.

I'm used to working in square pixels for the web and can't quite grasp the pixel aspect ratio thing (at least on After Effects) and no tutorial on the web seems to be of assistance. I'm in the UK so I assume it would need to be PAL format?

I would really appreciate an expert's input on this please as I've tried everything!

Many thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

Michael Rayford
Re: After effects for 50 inch TV
on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:17:48 pm

From my experience you need to set up your comp from the beginning at the least 720x480 then fit your footage as needed, depending on how the footage was shot will determine your quality, then when you render out use your best setting for each module. Once its rendered out you should be able to just select full screen from the player and it should be ok. Hope this helps!

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:25:57 pm

Playback will drive your composition settings.

What is the native resolution of the panel, and how are you going to connect the laptop to the panel?

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting