ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

XDCAM EX is giving me black screen of death. PLEASE HELP!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cynthia Calamug
XDCAM EX is giving me black screen of death. PLEASE HELP!
on Jan 26, 2010 at 1:18:03 am

Dear friends,

I want to admit first of all that I don't know very much about the technical side of video stuff (codecs, compression, etc.) I have been using Final Cut Pro for about 6 months and have produced about 20 videos, including this one: http://www.vimeo.com/8941838

I have a laptop (MAC OS X Version 10.5.8, processor 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Memory 2 GB). I just installed After Effects CS4 on this laptop. I want to be able to work with video (using After Effects) on this laptop.

All my video is shot in XDCAM EX 720p30 (35 Mb/s VBR), Integer (Big Endian).

When I try to open this video on my computer, it just plays a black screen.

I just bought and installed QUICKTIME PRO, but this didn't help at all.

Can someone please tell me how I can make this video work? I would appreciate it very much!

A message said to go here and download the right codec:

http://www.apple.com/quicktime/resources/components.html?os=OSX&ctype=696d6...

. . . but this didn't seem to have the right file (unless I am wrong).

PLEASE HELP! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

Return to posts index

Ben Heusner Brownlee
Re: XDCAM EX is giving me black screen of death. PLEASE HELP!
on Jan 26, 2010 at 6:49:38 am

If you don't have Final Cut Studio installed on your system, then you probably don't have the correct codec you need to playback these files. That's why you're getting the black screen.

Quicktime Pro won't give you this feature, but Calibrated Software have some software that will let. That is if you don't have the V1.4 of AppleHDVCodec.component, which is automatically installed by FCS.

Hope that helps,
Ben

Curious Turtle Pro Video
Training | Editing | Support