ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Digits Man by Eran Stern

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joe Sullivan
Digits Man by Eran Stern
on Jan 21, 2010 at 8:50:23 pm

Im new to after effects-

I would like to know if its possible to create a fireworks effect, fairy dust effect, gold glitter , aura etc. to show that an individual within the video is experiencing something magical-

I want to use existing you tube videos-thinking maybe I can overlay an existing effect over particular individual-

I now digits man was done with green screen and very elaborate-

I'm looking to do this simplistically - no green screen- just an existing you tube video and marking an individual within the video and showing within their body form that something magical is taking place

thanks- appreciate any help

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Digits Man by Eran Stern
on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:08:04 pm

[Joe Sullivan] "I'm new to after effects- "

Yeah, no kidding. The remainder of your post is a dead giveaway.

The first thing you have to understand about AE is that it works NOTHING like any other multimedia application you've probably ever used. It was originally written in the days when just about the only people who had a copy were media professionals who did their homework.

AE is NOT the kind of application where you can easily pick up a couple of tricks. It's not like Microsoft word, where somebody can talk you through converting text separated by tabs into a cool-looking table. To pull off tricks in AE, you absolutely, positively have to know the basics. AE gives you too many ways to screw up if you don't know the basics.

So instead of us telling you about tricks, you should start here:
http://www.videocopilot.net/basic/

...and good luck.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:22:36 pm