ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Strange issues with 3D layers.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alex PritchardStrange issues with 3D layers.
by on Dec 15, 2009 at 8:59:53 pm

Hello,

Working on a Mac and using CS3. I've been creating an animation. 2D drawings turned into 3D layers so I can use a cam. The problem I am having is when I render the film out I get glitches with some of the layers.

The glitches only last for a frame or so and happen when ever i make a cut from one shot to another. Object will appear after a frame, or change size and on occasion the cam is out of focus.

In the comp I see no such glitches, this only happens when I render the film out.

I am new to AE so it could be something extremely simple.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Strange issues with 3D layers.
by on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:22:51 pm

Turn off Open GL. Leave it off. It does more harm than good, as you are now painfully aware.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Alex PritchardRe: Strange issues with 3D layers.
by on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:12:49 pm

Thank you David for your quick reply.

Looked at the Open GL settings and they seemed to already be off. I did change the Accelerated effects using: to Adaptive Resolution.

Also in the Open GL info box It told me that 'No compatible OpenGL video card found'

I rendered again and the same problems seem to occurred. Clipping frames at random points.

Return to posts index

by on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:48:47 pm

Glad to hear Open GL is off. RAM-wise, if you don't have at least 2GB/core plus an extra GB for the operating system, It's prudent to turn off multiprocessing, too.

Now the diagnosis gets tougher. You wrote, "The glitches only last for a frame or so and happen when ever i make a cut from one shot to another." I'd double-check the comp for overlapping camera layers.