ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Exporting swf at 400x225 from larger footage

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ian SmithExporting swf at 400x225 from larger footage
by on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:58:56 pm

I'm new to using After Effects (using CS4). I'm attempting to create a swf from video footage edited in Premiere Pro.

I also attempted to do this the best way I know how, being relatively new to the Adobe CS4 suite.

I edited a 720x480 widescreen video in Premiere Pro. Here's the kicker... some of the footage I was given was in such a low resolution it couln't even fill the canvas without losing clarity. Fortunately, the final output is going to be for web video, and only needs to be 400 pixels wide.

SO, I was thinking... I'll just edit this in Premiere and export a cropped swf file. I don't think Premiere can create an swf. This is where After Effects steps in.

I'm aware that it is simple to export a swf file, quick and simple. However, I need to get the swf to that final cropped image size.

So, beginning with a composition in After Effects at 720x480 Square pixels, I pull my video in. Everything looks good, now I need to crop it down.

I changed the composition canvas settings to 400x225 and scaled the imported ('uncompressed' or word, AVI) down to 64% and I am looking at my video cropped and ready for export.

I export to swf, and the final swf is much larger than my canvas size, and shows all the excess video that I wanted cropped out.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Return to posts index

Brendan CootsRe: Exporting swf at 400x225 from larger footage
by on Dec 11, 2009 at 9:49:20 pm