ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

How the heck does SOUND work with AE?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alec WestHow the heck does SOUND work with AE?
by on Dec 5, 2009 at 5:31:23 am

Ok, so i've been reading posts about sound so i'm guessing you can hear sound in AE, but I'm not getting anything! I imported my footage, and cannot hear any sound. Even when i ram preview nothing. How the heck does sound work with AE????? I guess Its not like premiere pro where i just scrub the play head and you hear sound! The audio panel is all dulled out, but in the timeline i can see the audio waveform on the layer of the footage.

This is boggling my mind on how to hear the audio. This should be simple right? Also, since i'm a newbie, why is teh footage always so chompy when i scrub the playhead??? why cant it be like premiere pro!!!

Return to posts index

David JohnsonRe: How the heck does SOUND work with AE?
by on Dec 5, 2009 at 3:12:04 pm

[Alec West] "How the heck does sound work with AE?"

[Alec West] "why cant it be like premiere pro!!!"

Because it is not Premiere Pro. Why would Adobe (or any other company) dedicate resources to building and supporting two separate programs that are the same? They serve entirely different purposes and, therefore, function differently ... PP is an NLE application ... AE is a motion graphics, effects and compositing application.

Since you're new, it may also be helpful to know that you'll get more and better help if you don't expect others to do your homework.

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: How the heck does SOUND work with AE?
by on Dec 6, 2009 at 2:24:31 am

If you're doing a RAM preview and you can't hear sound, it's probably because you're doing a preview by pressing spacebar which is nit a good way to preview in AE. Press the 0 key on your number pad (not the normal part of the keyboard).