ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

1st time trying motion tracking, need to add # to soccer player shirt in certain areas of video....

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sebastian Knight1st time trying motion tracking, need to add # to soccer player shirt in certain areas of video....
by on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:45:36 am

I am new to After Effects CS4, I am trying motion tracking for the first time, I have a video that is about 30 minutes long, and I need to highlight a player, I need to this because the video is overexposed, so you can not see the player's number on his shirt, so I thought I could use motion tracker to do so, I was also playing around with the idea of having an arrow follow him onscreen where he is shown.

So here is what I need:

1-Easiest way to get started with motion tracking?

2-Easiest way to work with select areas of video and use motion tracking on just these areas.

As always thanks in advance for you help and reply

Sebastian

Thank You in advance for taking the time to read and reply to my Post.

Sebastian

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: 1st time trying motion tracking, need to add # to soccer player shirt in certain areas of video....
by on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:56:52 am

Ctrl+shift+D (on a pc) will split your layer at the point where your playhead is located on the timeline. Use that to split your video up so you have layers that are just the video you want to use.
Or, alternatively, export just that part from your editing software.

As far as getting started with motion tracking, try some of the tutorials here on the COW.

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index