ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Doubts: Formats, Compression, AE to FCP

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ico OliveiraDoubts: Formats, Compression, AE to FCP
by on Nov 16, 2009 at 8:01:53 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm assembling a animation into After Effects using graphics from Photoshop and I want to edit it into the Final Cut, for the final export. Since I'm somewhat new to this I have some doubts.

-Since it has to be a Full HD (1080) animation, which is the best format to start it (i.e. HDTV, DVCPRO, NTSC DV, etc.)?

-Which compression should i use to edit on FCP afterwards? A friend told me about a Blackmagic Intensity or Apple 422 HQ. Both of them generate huge files that is not even able to playback on Quicktime, and I have a MacPro 2xQuad Xeon. Is that normal to edit later on Final Cut? Maybe no compression at all?

-Exporting a Quicktime Mov from AE then importing into FCP is the best way to do so? I know Motion and FCP work better together, but right now I already have some scenes animated on AE and time won't let me re-work them.

I hope I made my doubts clear and that someone can help.

Thanks in advance,

Ico

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Doubts: Formats, Compression, AE to FCP
by on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:11:37 pm

[Ico Oliveira] "-Since it has to be a Full HD (1080) animation, which is the best format to start it (i.e. HDTV, DVCPRO, NTSC DV, etc.)? "

Use a 1920x1080 comp. Don't forget to assign it the proper frame rate.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Ico Oliveira] "Which compression should i use to edit on FCP afterwards?"