ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Using alpha channel with keylight

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Esther Casas
Using alpha channel with keylight
on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:58:35 pm

Hi everyone,
I have a simple shot with bluescreen but I am not an expert with keylight and like t know what is the best thing to do:

the shot: people moving in a park with the background being a bluescreen behing trees.

problem: i can't keylight all the shot as some people is wearing blue clothes

suggestion I got: someone told me to create an aplha channel and then pre-comp...

what i did: first keylight the bluescreen on footage.. Then duplicate layer, and then create from this layer the alpha channel: the problem is still the same, the blue form teh clothes is still keylighted...

question: at the beginning i started doing a mask around thebackground and keylighted that mask, but as the mask is not very easy to do in this shot, someone suggested to do the pre-comp with adding an alpha layer.So, what is the step-by step to do alpha channel correctly and pre-comp?
thank you so much!
e.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Using alpha channel with keylight
on Nov 12, 2009 at 9:14:31 pm

You may be better off just getting the shot over again. If that isn't possible, you may be in for a lot of work.

If the key looks good except for people in blue clothes, you may have to animate masks around those people on a duplicated layer. This is a process known as rotoscoping. It is very painstaking, tedious work, and it takes a long time.

Rotoscoping is the one sure method for solving your problem. There may be others, but we can't see the footage, so we don't know for sure if there would be any better way.

To be honest, I have no idea of any benefit your friend was thinking about by saying, "create an alpha channel and then precomp".

Dave's Stock Answer #2: