ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Slow down a movie clip

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shaun StanwoodSlow down a movie clip
by on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:17:09 pm

Hi all, I'm a bit of an AE Novice here.
For what seems to be a simple task, I can't find a straightforward how-to. I'd check my books but they're in storage for another 3 weeks, while my life is on the move.

Any ways, I need to slow down a .mov clip.
If I use the time extend -> 200%, I get the speed I want, but it's all choppy, presumably because they just double the frames.
I need a smooth, slower version of my .mov file.
If I use the timewarp feature and add slow it down that way, I lose frames, and my .mov no longer loops seamlessly.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Slow down a movie clip
by on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:25:18 pm

If reducing the clip's speed by half isn't acceptable, try two things:
• Use Time Remapping to slow down the clip, and enable frame blending.
• Still no joy? It's time to open the wallet to get a pricey frame rate conversion plugin from Magic Bullet or Twixtor.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: Slow down a movie clip
by on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:06:54 pm

time stretch might be easier that time remapping for this, but then do as dave suggests and enable frame blending (layer>frame blending>pixel motion) and enable frame blending for the preview, it's the icon that looks like a film frame.

but no matter how you do it, you will have problems looping it... to try and make that work, you will need to add the first frame to the end and then do your time stretch/time remap/timewarp it to interpolate a new frame in between, then trim off the last frame of two to get it to look again.