ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Create a path over an aerial video of mountains?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Susan Dempster
Create a path over an aerial video of mountains?
on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:08:54 pm

I'm new to After Effects - I'm not sure if this is even possible...

I have an aerial video of a mountainous region that I want to draw a winding pathway over. I have GPS coordinates for this pathway, and can reference this in google earth software. Is there a relatively straightforward way to create this pathway over all the hills and mountains, without having to draw frame by frame (Which is just about the only way I can think to do this in Final Cut)

Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly helpful!!!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Create a path over an aerial video of mountains?
on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:35:21 pm

[Susan Dempster] "I have an aerial video of a mountainous region that I want to draw a winding pathway over."

Aerial Video? I doubt this is a rock-solid, locked-down shot, which compounds your problems.

Before we can offer up any kind of workable solution, we're going to need more information. Can you describe what you see when you look at this video... particularly the camera motion you have to deal with?

But if what I fear turns out to be correct, this little project of yours ain't for the faint of heart. Or AE rookies, for that matter.

Dave's Stock Answer #2:

When you're out on a shoot, and you say, "we'll fix this in post" without knowing PRECISELY HOW you're going to fix it in post, don't shoot it! You'll only end up shooting it over again.

Since post typically costs three times the cost of production, fixing something in post is not a way to save money, but rather a way to spend more of it.

And, before you say "well fix it in post," always consider who's doing the work, especially if you're the one doing the editing.

Dave LaRonde