ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Why does my video have a lot of grain or video noise???

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David DiNennaWhy does my video have a lot of grain or video noise???
by on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:58:29 pm

I recorded this with an HDV Sony HVRZ5U camcorder with a green screen, keyed the green out and embedded the video with in a SWF file. The raw video footage seems to be grainy but not out of focus. It gets worse when it's used in the SWF file. I know the SWF adds to the issue but does anyone have any good advice for capturing the video as clear as possible to start with - I'm a newbie so pardon if this is a basic question.

The video is on and the password is "insight". The video is just a welcome message so it only plays a few seconds. To see it again to view the issue just refresh your browswer and it the welcome video will run again.

thanks for any help anyone can provide!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Why does my video have a lot of grain or video noise???
by on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:28:11 pm

[David DiNenna] "I recorded this with an HDV Sony HVRZ5U camcorder with a green screen..."

No kidding. I see a TON of green light spill, and some really bad-looking edges. There are a number of reasons for your bad-looking key:
  • Green screen too close to the subject
  • Green screen lit too brightly
  • Green screen not lit uniformly
  • You're not sure what you're doing in Keylight
  • You're shooting HDV

Of the items above, the lighting and green screen proximity is more important. That animation is sufficiently small that you can scale the footage down to conceal HDV's many color resolution flaws. And on a vertically-oriented shot like that, you can also turn the camera on its side to take better advantage of that 16x9 camera's resolution.