ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Video flame border help

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike CarrierVideo flame border help
by on Nov 8, 2009 at 4:05:30 pm

I'm trying to create a flame like border like the one in this video.

I'm no pro but I can't figure out for the life of me how to do it.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Return to posts index

Jakob MÃ¥rtenssonRe: Video flame border help
by on Nov 9, 2009 at 2:56:40 am

I would start with a solid and some fractal noise on that, animate the noise, than make some masks and the luma matte option might be useful too. Hope that gets You started.

Return to posts index

Mike CarrierRe: Video flame border help
by on Nov 9, 2009 at 6:09:05 am

Yeah ill give it a shot... Was really hoping that it would be just some effect I missed. Oh well, better luck next time.

Thanks for the suggestion

Return to posts index

David JohnsonRe: Video flame border help
by on Nov 9, 2009 at 12:54:14 pm

You might also try the Roughen Edges effect, but you will probably need to adjust the settings quite a bit to get the large moving edges.

Return to posts index

by on Nov 9, 2009 at 2:03:44 pm

Thanks for your response this is the look I want. I just have one problem. When I apply the settings some of the edges are cut off by the size of the solid. Giving it a bad look. How do I over come this?

Return to posts index

Dave JohnsonRe: Video flame border help
by on Nov 9, 2009 at 3:17:22 pm

When you say "this is the look I want", it's unclear whether you're referring to the Roughen Edges method or the other method suggested, but there are two mains ways to avoid the cutoff issue:

[1] precompose the solid and change the precomp size to be larger than the solid, thereby adding enough space around the perimeter for any effects that may extend beyond the size of the solid itself