ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to capture video best for keying

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Drew JensenHow to capture video best for keying
by on Nov 6, 2009 at 8:40:43 pm

I was wondering if there is a better way to record video. Right now, I'm using the Canon XH A1 and I record straight from the camera via firewire and capture using Premiere Pro. I record using the HDV format. I know that keying can be a problem while using a type of DV format and was wondering if there is a better way to capture the video so that keying will be a little bit easier. I'm new to after effects and premiere, well, video editing in general. I have to export in flv and it seems the combination of these factors produces ok results but I'm sure they can be better. If any of you guys have tips on video capturing, please let me know.

Return to posts index

david bogieRe: How to capture video best for keying
by on Nov 6, 2009 at 10:24:26 pm

Keying relies on three things: Lighting the set properly, adequate chroma resolution, and adequate pixel resolution. DV blows because of the pixel quantizing. The best keys have those buzzing squares because that's what the pixels look like.
If you can't all three of those factors working in your favor, you learn how to cope. With DV, that often means suing several copies of your footage each processed with a different type of keyer, image enhancer, or matte filter. When you combine theam all together, you can get a lovely matte.

You can research chromakeying with DV endlessly o the Net and, if that's the only video format you've got at your disposal, you can get a DV-specific or DV-friendly keyer. One of them is called something like DV Garage.

bogiesan

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: How to capture video best for keying
by on Nov 6, 2009 at 10:32:14 pm