ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Distributed rendering without a server

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
peter stenhouseDistributed rendering without a server
by on Nov 6, 2009 at 12:34:34 pm

Hi there. I have looked at the various posts on network rendering but none seem to offer a solution for my particular situation.
I am a freelancer and usually work from my Macbook Pro on aftereffects. I have managed to borrow two MacPros from the company I am working for, to network, and help with the rendering. However what I don't have is a server to act as centralised storage for the files the computers would use. I was wondering what the best configuration of the machines that I have to distribute the rendering. I do have a gigabit switch, but I am a little confused as to where to put watch folders and what not in order to avoid slow down etc. Unfortunately I don't have budget for a dedicated server, but do have a number of external hardrives. Could they be used to share files?
Your help would be greatly appreciated.
Tahnks in advance
Peter

Return to posts index

Tony SilvaRe: Distributed rendering without a server
by on Nov 6, 2009 at 4:15:04 pm

everything will still work without a dedicated server, it just won't be as fast.

I've always found the "watch folder" method a PITA. The problem being collecting huge projects. I like running the renders in batch mode better.

Return to posts index

peter stenhouseRe: Distributed rendering without a server
by on Nov 6, 2009 at 10:23:34 pm

Thanks for the response. In my preliminary experimetns I have already encountered the PITA that is project collection. What is the Batch method you use, is it more than simply queuing a bunch of comps to render.
Thanks again
Peter

small flowers crack concrete

Return to posts index

Tony SilvaRe: Distributed rendering without a server
by on Nov 9, 2009 at 4:28:09 pm