ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

particle world

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
keith mcgregorparticle world
by on Nov 5, 2009 at 6:00:55 pm

Good day y'all! I am not a newbie and I am in charge of keeping things going at the school I work at. I have found the most irritating thing: has anyone noticed the cycore effects are crashing CS3 on leopard? I have tried on multiple machines here at the school and everytime I add particle world to an empty solid or open a project with particle world in it, it crashes. A pop-up window informs me that an error occurred while invoking particle world and then no response. I successfully opened a project with the layer visibility turned off, but when I enable it, bye, bye AE. For some reason our new dual quad-core xeon boxes with 10 gig memory running 10.5.6 can't seem to handle it. Was there an update to fix? Or update to cycore HD? My tiger machine (a paltry dual 2.3 ppc with 6.5 gig mem can handle it). I've been looking on the internets for someone else having this problem but to no avail. (I am guessing no one cares anymore because you all have CS4 right?)
Thanks in advance!
Your brother in effects, Keith

Reality? What did you make it?

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: particle world
by on Nov 5, 2009 at 6:31:46 pm

i have cs3 on a 2008 macpro (8-core, 2.8ghz, 12gb ram, osx10.5.8) and have no problems....

make sure you have the latest cs3 update (8.0.2, i believe)... with ae open, choose after effects>about, or select the app in the finder and choose get info.

i would also try resetting the preference file by quitting ae, the hold down option-command while restarting ae.

also, try going into preferences>previews and disable opengl acceleration.

if that's not the problem, in the get info panel (finder, file>get info) make sure that ae is not set to run under rosetta...

Kevin Camp
Senior Designer