ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

After Effects - Camera issues

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Carlos BonillaAfter Effects - Camera issues
by on Oct 30, 2009 at 11:24:36 pm

Hey guys,

Im new to the forum so before anything I'd like to say hello to everyone. Ive used Creative Cow tutorials and this is my first time posting on the forum.

So the issue I have is with animating the camera in After Effects. Whenever I go back to fix any movements or go in and change any portion of an already animated camera sequence, the camera seems to start getting jerky. From the newly edited points going into the rest of the sequence it seems to hold on to previous values. So after passing any new keyframes I have layed down and going into an old keyframe - it jerks around. Ive tried editing the movement of the camera in every imaginable way and still cant seem to go into an already animated sequence of the camera, change its values on these movements, and have it play back the way I would like it to.

I dont know if i am explaining this correctly - but any advice would be appreciated. Thank You.

Return to posts index

Sergei SokolovSeparate XYZ Position
by on Oct 31, 2009 at 8:28:41 am

Hi Carlos!

As you know, each camera position keyframe has 3 values: X, Y and Z.
Say, you insert an intermediate keyframe to only affect camera movement in Z axis.
But when you add a keyframe to a sequence you affect all three values, which may cause that shakes.

Also check the keyframes interpolation - make sure they're Linear / Auto Bezier.

Here's a workaround I found at
Add a Null object, make it 3D.
Parent Camera to the Null.
Apply animation preset "Separate XYZ Position" to the Null.
Now you can animate X, Y and Z independently!