ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Windows 7 and AE, Wait?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tim Morecroft
Windows 7 and AE, Wait?
on Oct 29, 2009 at 6:28:28 pm

Ok so im basically a freelance novice motion graphics/VFX person thing, i was interning at a small production company and without going into details now im not.
So i had access to pretty top of the line computers to run AE and that of course helped with my learning, but now im on my pathetic single core comp with 2gig of ram.
So guess what its new computer building time!...my wallet is sobbing in the corner, but what i wanted to find out is now that Win7 is officially out in all its majesty, how is it running AE CS3-4 for people?
even outside of work my usual rule of thumb was not to upgrade O.S till at least one SP is out..but as im building a new comp thats gonna be 64 bit, and right now from what i read vista pro or whatever the version above home handles 64bit the best, i'm trying with all my being to avoid vista.

so yeah a really long post to basically ask should i build my comp for AE CS4 with win7 in mind? or give it a little more time?

Return to posts index

Dave Johnson
Re: Windows 7 and AE, Wait?
on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:50:53 pm

I am not an IT guy, but a long-time professional user of many Adobe applications, as well as many other media applications on both platforms so I'll offer my two cents anyway.

As the post below states, it was recently announced that the "next" AE version will definitely be 64-bit and there's plenty of speculation circulating that CS5 will be released within 6-9 months.

http://forums.creativecow.net/readpost/2/966292

[Tim Morecroft ... should i build my comp for AE CS4 with win7 in mind?]