ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

CC Sphere Earth Again

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Thomas DormanCC Sphere Earth Again
by on Oct 28, 2009 at 9:04:14 am

I watched a a couple of tutorials on creating a 3D earth for my project. I saw the one on Creative Cow, that looked like the thing I was after. But the problem with that, is that I have to control the radius of the whole globe, in a way that the cloud and athmosphere layers grow, or shrink the same way as the texture layers wich can be linked togeather easily, because they have the same radius. I'm a beginner in After Effects, so I'm not really an "expressionist", but my idea is that there might be a way to do this. In my case the radius of the texture layers is 200 just like in the tutorial, and the clouds layer has a radius of 202. 204 for the athmosphere. Id like to set up the thing so, that when I change the radius of the texture layers to 400 then the cloud layer should have a radius of 404, and the atmosphere has it at 408. When I set the textures radius to 2000 then the others should have a radius of 2020, and 2040. So the layers realation in diameter is always the same percentage. How can I link these together. By the way I want to do this because I'd like to make a an earth zoom scene far away from space,ending with a pretty closeup wiew of my country.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: CC Sphere Earth Again
by on Oct 28, 2009 at 2:59:47 pm

If I were doing the animation, I could either waste my time trying to figure out an appropriate expression, or I could simply keyframe the layers appropriately and be done in two minutes.

But that's just me....

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: CC Sphere Earth Again
by on Oct 28, 2009 at 3:40:46 pm

if you know exactly what your after, dave's method is definitely the way to go.