ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

lens blur headache

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
xavier loebllens blur headache
by on Oct 27, 2009 at 5:59:57 pm

Hi all
This is my first post here, I'm new to the after effects thing so I hope my question is neither too silly nor in the wrong place.... I also hope my english will be accurate enough :)

That being said, here we go :

I'm trying to simulate a de-focused water plane in AEcs4, therefore I pre-composed an animated fractal noise and then turned this comp into a 3d layer and rotated it on the x axis in order to have it laid down...
Now the tricky part, I want it to look like as if it was out of focus, but when I apply a lens blur effect to this 3D composition the "lens artifacts" are affected by perspective.
I don't want to use an adjustment layer to de-focus my water as there are other layers beneath it that i do not want to blur.

Doas anyone have a tip please ?

I hope I made it clear.....

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: lens blur headache
by on Oct 27, 2009 at 6:26:01 pm

you might try adding a camera (layer>new>camera) and enable depth of field. since the water layer is a 3d layer, it has depth, so adjusting/animating the focal distance of the camera and the blur amount will give you a similar effect. plus, a camera will only effect other 3d layers, so if the layers you don't want blurred are 2d, they won't be effected.

another way would be to precomp the water layer (layer>pre-compose, choose to move all attributes) then apply lens blur to the precomp'ed water in the main comp.

Kevin Camp
Senior Designer
KCPQ, KMYQ & KRCW

Return to posts index

xavier loeblRe: lens blur headache
by on Oct 28, 2009 at 10:17:03 am

Thanks for your help kevin, but i've tried these 2 options already and none seems to work, perhaps I'm doing something wrong ?